In 1998, Cynthia Copeland, Nan Rothschild, and Diana Wall formed the Seneca Village Project, which is geared towards the study of the village in an educational context and its commemoration. Herbert Seignoret has also been involved since the project's inception. We have assembled an Advisory Committee made up of scholars who have studied aspects of New York's African and Irish culture and history as well as community members who are concerned about Seneca Village. The Committee works with the directors in planning the direction of the project.


Cynthia Copeland – The New-York Historical Society
Nan Rothschild – Barnard College, Columbia University
Diana Wall – City College of New York, CUNY

Advisory Board

Alice Baldwin-Jones – Teachers College
Betsy Blackmar – Columbia University
George Brandon – Sophie Davis Medical School, CUNY
Cornell Edwards – African American Episcopal Zion Church
C. Virginia Fields – former Manhattan Borough President
Marlayna Franklin – Urban Historian/Writer
Joan Geismar – Urban Archaeologist
Venus Green – City College of New York, CUNY
Leslie Harris – Emory University
Jean Howson – African Burial Ground Project
Paul Johnson – All Angels' Church
Celedonia Jones – Manhattan Borough Historian
Cheryl LaRoche – University of Maryland
Olivia Ng – University of Pennsylvania
Edward O'Donnell – College of the Holy Cross
Warren Perry – Central Connecticut State University
Roy Rosenzweig – George Mason University
Herbert Seignoret – City College of New York, CUNY
Gina Stahlnecker – Special Assistant, Sen. David A. Paterson
Rodger Taylor – New York Public Library
David Hurst Thomas – American Museum of Natural History
Eric K. Washington – Writer/ Tour Leader
Craig Wilder – Dartmouth College
Sherrill Wilson – Urban Anthropologist